South Staffs Burgee
South Staffordshire Sailing Club
RYA Volvo Champion Club National Lottery - Sport England
© Annette Fitzpatrick
The Peter Waine Trophy
© Annette Fitzpatrick
2015 Winners - Annette and Graham (nine 1st in nine races)

Peter Waine Trophy

This Trophy is awarded to the overall winner of the three Bank Holiday races calculated on a P.H. basis. Nine races to be sailed with a total of four races to count.
Start will be as Bank holiday PY races. 


The trophy was presented by SSSC in 1993 to commemorate Peter's 75th birthday.

Peter was a founder member of SSSC in 1954 and was Commodore in 1977-1978.

He was instrumental in the founding of our club and, with his wife Pam's assistance, showed great passion over many years for the club and its aim to introduce and teach people this wonderful sport.

Outside of SSSC, he was also a member of Midland SC and Rangoon SC in Burma (now Myanmar) helping greatly to re-establish the club after the war.

He was also well known for his vast knowledge and experience of boat building and sailing in many parts of the world.

An article summarising his life story can be read here......

A Sailor's Life Unfurled

Peter Waine's Library - Located in the Archive Room above the Boat House are nearly 200 books collected by Peter during over 80 years of avid reading.  Members are encouraged to use them for reference or just for a good read.  All we ask is that you respect the books - some of which are rather delicate and irreplacable whilst others are new and expensive.  There is an index of all the books available HERE

Previous Winners

Year Helm Crew
2017 C Jones B Waymont
2016 L Carpenter N Brandon
2015 A Fitzpatrick J Jones
2014 V Ford N Brandon
2013       W Hawkins        S Thompson       
2012 M Hicklin J Hicklin
2011 J Hicklin M Hicklin
2010 E Davis A Norbury
2009 E Davis C Hicklin
2008 R Hicklin  
2007 J Edge  
2006 J Salomonson  
2005 D Fleming  
2004 D R Danbury  
2003 P Owen  
2002 D Rafferty  
2001 M Whittaker  
2000 R Lowery  
1999 R Harper  
1998 J Stocking  
1997 P Goodfellow  
1996 P Smythe  
1995 M Todd  
1994 D Pugh  
1993 C Beddow