South Staffs Burgee
South Staffordshire Sailing Club
RYA Volvo Champion Club National Lottery - Sport England
© Annette Fitzpatrick
Express and Star Trophy

Express & Star Trophy


Spring Series (March to May)  11 Races

GP Class Spring Series


Express & Star Trophy, awarded for GP Class Spring Series.  First awarded to Eric Smith in 1955.

The Express & Star Troophy was donated by Malcolm Graham, proprietor of the Express & Star, who worked 'behind the scenes' to ensure the Club's successful launch.  This trophy was specially designed and made by students of Wolverhampton College of Arts, now the University of Wolverhampton.

Clement Jones is one of South Staffordshire Sailing Club's (SSSC) founder members and the Club's first Honarary Secretary.  Clement Jones was the features editor of the Express and Star, who drew together a disperate band of enthusiasts who can rightly claim to have been among the early pioneers in the rapid post war expansion of the development of island sailing clubs. 


Previous Winners

Year Helm   Crew
2016 C Beddow   M Evans
2015 M Warburton    J Croxford
2014 M Fleming    Various Crew
2013       C Beddow         C Cook   
2012 M Warburton  
2011 S Blocksidge    
2010 J Salomonson    
2009 J Salomonson    
2008 J Salomonson    
2007 J Stocking    

J Stocking

2005 J Stocking    
2003 C Beddow    
2002 J Warburton    
2001 K Dutton    
2000 J Salomonson    
1999 N Banford    
1998 R Jakeman    
1997 N Banford    
1996 J Jones    
1995 J Salomonson    
1994 J Salomonson    
1993 J Salomonson    
1992 S Parry    
1991 C Jennings    
1990 J Salomonson