South Staffs Burgee
South Staffordshire Sailing Club
RYA Volvo Champion Club National Lottery - Sport England
© Neil Hawkins
Meeting at the Victoria Hotel 1954
© Neil Hawkins
Clearing the Banks at Calf Heath 1955
© Annette Fitzpatrick
The H R Clarkson Trophy

H R Clarkson Trophy



Spring Series (March to May) 11 Races

Lark Class Spring A Series


Henry Clarkson, known as Bert, presented the H R Clarkson trophy in 1955.  Henry Clarkson was the Club's first Treasurer.  Bert would never let the Club spend a shilling if a penny would do.  Whilst on holiday on the Isle of Wight, Bert called on Uffa Fox and started the process that led to Uffa Fox opening SSSC and becoming Patron.

First won by Eric Smith in 'Blue Belle' in 1955.

Previous Winners

Year Helm Crew
2016 M Nichols C Waymont
2015 M Evans Various Crew
2014 W Croxford H Morris
2013       W Croxford        H Morris
2012 A Hotchkiss
2011 C White  
2010 T Hotchkiss  
2009 T Hotchkiss  
2008 T Hotchkiss  
2007 T Hotchkiss  
2006 M Evans  
2005 C White  
2003 Not Awarded  
2002 M Moscardi  
2001 M Moscardi  
2000 M Moscardi  
1999 M Moscardi  
1998 R Alexander  
1997 M Moscardi  
1996 M Moscardi  
1995 M Moscardi  
1994 P Goodhead  
1993 J Billington