South Staffs Burgee
South Staffordshire Sailing Club
RYA Volvo Champion Club National Lottery - Sport England
© Annette Fitzpatrick
J Clement Jones Commodore Salver
© Neil Hawkins
Founder Members 1954
© Neil Hawkins
Martin Warburton - Commodore 2014

J Clement Jones Commodore Salver



Sunday 10th July 2016.  11.30 am Commodore's Bottle Race. 2.30 pm Commodore's P.Y. Race with the H.V.Gough Commodore's Trophy awarded to the winner and the J. Clement Jones Commodore's Salver awarded to the runner up.

For photos of the 2015 Commodore's Day please click here.


The Club celebrated its 60th year in 2014.

Clement Jones is one of South Staffordshire Sailing Club's (SSSC) founder members and the Club's first Honarary Secretary.  Clement Jones was the features editor of the Express and Star, who drew together a disperate band of enthusiasts who can rightly claim to have been among the early pioneers in the rapid post war expansion of the development of island sailing clubs.

First awarded in 1960 to Pat Billing who sailed in 'Bana Gael'.

Previous Winners

Year Helm Crew
2016 W Croxford  
2015 M Senior L Senior
2014 E Bradburn  
2013       S Watson     A Hunter    
2012 C Warburton
2011 S Blocksidge  
2010 J Billington  
2009 P Owen  
2008 T Edwards  
2007 J Salomonson  
2006 N Goodhead  
2005 J Billington  
2004 A Heteley  
2003 D A Young  
2002 J Salomonson  
2001 C Beddow  
2000 L Jakeman  
1999 J Salomonson  
1998 S Ticehurst  
1997 M Moscardi  
1996 D Young  
1995 A Hoghkiss  
1994 M Mascardi  
1993 J Billington  

For further information on the Summer Series click HERE