South Staffs Burgee
South Staffordshire Sailing Club
RYA Volvo Champion Club National Lottery - Sport England
© Neil Hawkins
Members in front of the First Club House
© Annette Fitzpatrick
F H Day Trophy
© Neil Hawkins
Watching the sailing from Calf Heath Club House

F.H Day and Firefly Nina Tropies


 F.H Day Trophy - Summer Series

Firefly Nina - Spring Series

John Bill Trophy


The First Clubhouse

The Calf Heath Reservoir had seen members undertake the tree felling but now serious construction work and the site had to be prepared for the first club house.  Initially all the tools and equipment had been kept in a small building site hut, not much bigger than a garden shed, but help was at hand.  Stanley Gittins, the first vice commodore, mentioned the club's plight to F. H. Day, proprietor of the Willenhall Motor Radiator Company, who said he would give the club his firm's forma works canteen, which had started off life as a large, wooden hen house.

Another early member, Ken Hillard (Firefly Nina) who owned an earth moving and building company, volunteered to prepare the ground, dismantle the wartime works canteen and re-errect it on the new site.  He could not be faulted on his generosity:  he provided three men for three days, together with a low loader and all the necessary equipment.

The contribution made by these two early benefactors of South Staffs S.C. is remembered to this day in the trophies they donated for Firefly races: the F H Day Trophy (1954) and Nina Handicap Trophy (1957).

Once the clubhouse was up, it was redecorated through the generosity of another early member, John Bill, who owned Crosby Paints of Wolverhampton and who donated not only the necessary tins of paints but also the John Bill Trophy for GPs.

(SSSC The First Fifty Years p22)

Previous Winners

  F H Day Trophy Firefly Nina Trophy     
Year Helm Crew Helm       Crew    
2013       A N Other     A.N. Other            
2012 B Hudson
No Qualifier  
2011 B Hudson   No Qualifier  
2010 A Goodhead     No Qualifier  
2009 B Hudson   No Qualifier  
2008 B Hudson   No Qualifier  
2007 A Macaulay   A Macaulay  
2006 B Hudson   A Macaulay  
2005 K Macaulay   No Qualifier  
2004 K Macaulay      
2003 K Macaulay   K Macaulay  
2002 K Macauley   M Evans  
2001 W Bradburn   B Hudson  
2000 W Bradburn   D Jakeman  
1999 D Jakeman   J Billington  
1998 S Ticehurst   S Ticehurst  
1997 S Ticehurst   S Ticehurst  
1996 S Ticehurst   S Ticehurst  
1995 S Ticehurst   S Ticehurst  
1994 S Ticehurst   S Ticehurst  
1993 B Hudson   S Troke