South Staffs Burgee
South Staffordshire Sailing Club
RYA Volvo Champion Club National Lottery - Sport England
© Annette Fitzpatrick
24 hour Race 2015 Winners
© Annette Fitzpatrick
Commodore Celebrates in style
© Annette Fitzpatrick
West Lancs Trophy Presentations - How many can we win!

West Lans 24 Hour Race at Southport

Organised by: West Lancashire Yacht Club 

 West Lancs Crewsaver 24 Hour Race Website


The UK’s number one Dinghy Endurance Race.  The race is now in its 50h year with South Staffs one of a few clubs to have sailed every year, with the exception of the year 2000 when it was cancelled due to the petrol strike. 

1984 was ‘The year we didn’t finish”.  You can see the side of Alan Warner's dinghy 'Purple People Eater', which was  knocked out of the race, on the 1984 shield on our wall. 

South Staffs Sailing Club have now won six times: 2008, 2009, 2013 2014, 2015 and 2016.  Only the second club in the history of the race to have won six times.

Seven year’s ago, we had first and third places in two different classes (GP and Lark).  We repeated that with first and second (also in two classes) in the following year.  A most impressive performance over many years.

In 2013, Sam Blocksidge and Ed Dutton from South Staffs sailed the whole 24 hours with no assistance to raise money for the RNLI and finished 23rd overall.  

In 2015 South Staffs SC achieve a remarkable 1st and 2nd place.  This was achieved in two different classes: Lark and GP14.  GP14 missing out on 1st place by seconds.  The club boat or more affectionately known as the 'social' team came 25th.  Another great achievement.

The 2016 race was set to be an enormous challenge given the 2015 results.  This was an extraordinary event as West Lancs celebrate 50 years of the 24 hour race.  Read more ...

The 2017 race will be held on 9th and 10th September 2017.  Not to be missed!

2016 Update 

We did it again another 1st  and 2nd for South Staffs  - Congratulations Lark Team  and GP teams!

Just when we thought our teams could not top the 2015 results - we did!!  Our Firefly team came 2nd Firefly and we also won the Golden Oldies Race where sailors who sailed in the very first 24 hour event was asked to sail again and complete with each other - Big congratulations to Tony and Brenda Hotchkiss!

Well done to all who took part and supported the club. 


2016 Winning Trophies: 

The Southport Centenary Trophy                       - for the overall winner                
The Nat West Plaque - for the overall winner
Red Rose Cup - for leading Lark
The Presidents Trophy - for best cumulative results over 3 years
The Don Ibbetson Trophy - for the leading boat at midnight
The Bolton Cup - for the leading GP14
Barts Bash Prize - started at 14.00 hours
The K.P. Piggott - for the second overall 
The Bolton Cup - for the leading GP14
The 50th Anniversary Prize - for the leading boat entered in 1967 race
The Golden Oldies Prize - for the winning boat sailed by sailors who sailing in the 1967 race

Read more about the event in The Mast magaines which are published to celebrate the Crewsaver 24 Hour Race:

The Mast 2013

The Mast 2014